Queens Borough President Honors Community Board 13 members for their service



Left to Right: Community Board 13 members Seymour Finkelstein (Floral Park), Nagassar Ramgarib (Queens Village), Corey Bearak (Bellerose), Helene Zaro (Bell Park), Lloyd Hicks (Cambria Heights) and Jonathan Raines (Laurelton) (Photo by Community Board 13 member Jim Delaney, courtesy of Corey Bearak)

With five other fellow civic leaders who serve with me on Queens Community Board 13, I was honored for longevity of service for my 2nd stint on the Board. I originally joined CB13 in 1980. My citation read: "In grateful recognition of outstanding and dedicated service to your Community Board and the Borough of Queens.

After a City Charter amendment passed in November 1988 limited membership if you worked for a borough president or a council member who makes appointment to the board you would serve on my service ended. I re-joined the board just over a decade later when I joined the staff of then Bronx Borough President Fernando Ferrer in 1999. Then CB13 chair Sue Noreika who was one of my civic mentors and vice-chair Mary Parella asked that I re-apply and then Borough President Claire Shulman appointed me to the Board. Thank you to my friends Borough President Helen Marshall for re-appointing me and Deputy Borough President Barry Grodenchik who presented the certificates at the September 27, 2010 Community Board 13 meeting at Bellerose Assembly Church. Seymour Finkelstein and Lloyd Hicks were honored for 30 years of service, Helene Zaro and Jonathan Raines for 20 years, and Ram and I for 10 years.